Edmonton Highland Dancing Association – Honourary Life Members

The criteria for becoming a Honourary Life Member as established in our bylaws is: “Any member for valuable services rendered to the Local, may be nominated for a Honourary Life Membership in the Local. Such nomination shall be made in writing to the executive of the Local and shall clearly state the name of the nominee, the reason for the nomination and shall be signed by ten ordinary, associate or life members in good standing. Upon the approval by the Local, such nominations shall be registered with the Provincial Association. Upon registration, the member shall be admitted to Honourary Life Membership and shall be presented with a life membership pin by the Provincial Association. Honourary Life Members shall be entitled to all the privileges of ordinary membership but shall not be required to pay any further fees, dues or subscriptions.”

In the history of the Edmonton Highland Dancing Association only forty-four people have been appointed to the prestigious position of Honourary Life Member. Some are deceased, but their contributions live on.

Kelly Abrahart Dell Hill (D) Mary O’Neill
Cathy Allen Kitt Horlor (D) Clifford Otto
Jeannie Amyotte Evelyn Jones Barbara Prowse
Ella Armstrong (D) Fran Kerr (D) Cameron Prowse
Dale Bredin Peggy Leipert Helen Shirlaw Turvey (D)
Joan Brox Harry Lunan (D) Nancy Sloane (D)
Betty Butler Terri MacKenzie Elsie Smith (D)
Pat Cantin (D) Richard McAdie Lynne Stanton
Jean Chilton (D) Cameron McKinnon (D) Eirlys Stewart (D)
Ellen Davidson (D) Rebecca McKinnon Dave Trew
Ivy Doucette Trish McKinnon Bill Troock
Kathy Eccleston Caroline McNicoll Marion Walker
Norris Fox Pearl Morrison Ada Watson
Linda Gardner Marlene O’Brien Mary Winton
Barbara Hays (D) Brendon O’Neill (D)

(D) – Deceased

When you see these Life Members at competitions, please take a moment to say Thank You for their dedication and commitment to highland dancing and the Edmonton Highland Dancing Association.